1 Mazukora

Our Government Today Essay Contest

Commission Announces 2018 Women’s History Essay Contest

Click here for official entry information.

Tallahassee, FL (Updated December 7, 2017) — The Florida Commission on the Status of Women is seeking entries for the 2018 Women’s History Essay Contest from students in grades 6–8. The Commission invites students to participate in order to gain a more relevant appreciation of women’s roles in history.

“Celebrating women’s history presents the opportunity to honor and recount stories of our female leaders’ talents, sacrifices, and commitments and inspires today’s generations,” says Essay Contest Chair Commissioner Elena Spottswood. “Learning about our past allows us to build our future. This essay is designed to inspire the future leaders of our state and to help them learn about our government.”

Winning essayists will be awarded prizes and recognized at a special ceremony at the 5th Annual Women’s Legislative Summit to be held at the Capitol in Tallahassee in February 2018. All winners’ names will be released to the media and published on the Commission’s website.

Good news! In order to accommodate the challenging schedule posed on Florida by the storms of this Fall, the Florida Commission on the Status of Women has extended the deadline for the 2018 Essay Contest to Friday, January 12, 2018.  It is the desire of the Commission for all Florida Middle School students to have the opportunity to participate.

Students wishing to research legislative leadership for their essays can find more information here:

Florida Women’s Hall of Fame Members – (Mary Lou Baker, Senator Gwen Margolis, Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Senator Mary R. Grizzle, Senator Toni Jennings, Gwendolyn Sawyer Cherry, Senator Paula Fickes Hawkins, Senator Helen Gordon Davis, Betty Castor, Carrie P. Meek, Ruth Bryan Owen, Elaine Gordon.)

Members of the Florida House
Members of the Florida Senate

Related posts

We are no longer accepting applications. The winners will be announced March 26, 2018.

Should schools be able to keep tabs on students’ social media to prevent internet bullying? Should there be regulations that prohibit a president from tweeting? With our “We the Students” essay contest, you could win prizes just for sharing your thoughts on these issues!

Each year, We the Students gives 8-12th-grade students from across the U.S. a chance to share their perspective on a trending topic.

This year’s prompt: To what extent in the U.S. does the government–federal, state, and local–have the duty to monitor internet content?

We are awarding $20,000+ in scholarship and prizes to the students who submit the best essays on the topic.

  • 1st Place – $5,000 and a scholarship to our 2018 Constitutional Academy in Washington, D.C.
  • Runners Up – Six prizes at $1,250 each
  • Honorable Mentions – Eight prizes at $500 each

Sign-up For The Contest!

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *